In 2016, Wroclaw, together with San Sebastian - Donostia, a Spanish city, will carry the title of European Capital of Culture.

Stage II – final selection

Stage II – final selection

  1. Cities which have been accepted to the 2nd stage complete their applications.

  2. Nine months after the pre-selection meeting, the selection panel is convened again to evaluate programmes prepared by the cities and make the final selection. The selection panel issues a report of evaluation of the programmes together with a recommendation for the nomination of one city as ECC, which is then submitted to the Member State and to the Commission

  3. The Member State nominates one city to be ECC and notifies the European Parliament, the Council, the Commission and the Committee of the Regions thereof four years before the event is due to begin.

  4. The European Parliament forwards an opinion to the Commission within three months.

    The Council of Ministers of the EU, based on recommendation from the Commission drawn up in the light of the opinion of the European Parliament and of the selection panel, officially designates the city as ECC for the year.




ECC 2016 Information Brochure