In 2016, Wroclaw, together with San Sebastian - Donostia, a Spanish city, will carry the title of European Capital of Culture.

Legal basis

The ECC contest is part of the EU Culture Programme 2007 – 2013.

Decision establishing the Culture Programme 2007 – 2013 stipulates that:

“Under Decision No 1622/2006/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 24 October 2006 establishing a Community action for the European Capital of Culture event for the years 2007 to 2019, significant funding should be given to this event, which has a high profile among Europeans and helps to strengthen the feeling of belonging to a common cultural area. In the context of this event, the accent should be on trans-European cultural cooperation.”

Polish documents related to the European Capital of Culture 2016 contest will be published once the invitation for candidate cities is announced.

Documents to download:




ECC 2016 Information Brochure